Monday Motivations: The Power Of Simplicity


Most men like to keep things simple, uncomplicated and uncluttered. I am NOT a simple man. I’m long winded, passionate and at times maybe even a little too serious. People who know me say that I can take 30 minutes to tell a 5 minute story. I will cop to this. I like details, embellishments, I like to hear and see all angles of a subject before I form an opinion. Sometimes though, only a few ideas or facts are needed to move us forward. With that said I’m learning to embrace the power of simplicity. It’s a work in progress but I’m getting there.

When I think about the climate of the world, I think we all could use some of that simplicity today; simple living that keeps us from spiritual, emotional and financial trouble. Simple living that helps us in times of adversity, simplicity that doesn’t resign itself to mediocrity but finds honor in living with charity, responsibility and clarity.

Simplicity allows us to let go, to strip things down to its natural essence, see things for how they truly are. It doesn’t mean that it will be easy; it just means that it is easy to understand. My grandparents & great grandparents were humble people with simple values; “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” was the adage that they lived by. My grandfather (90yrs) once  called himself a “Blue Collar Gentleman.” I laughed but found that incredibly cool. “Work hard, provide for your family, don’t live outside your means and have a little fun in between.” was his only advice to me. Simply put, powerful words, wise advice.

My life will always be filled with changes, stops, starts, fits, failures and successes, but through it all as I get older and raise my family, I slowly realize that the collective wisdom of my grandparents & great grandparents and the simple wisdom they lived by could be of tremendous help for us today.

See? I got this post done in fewer than 500 words…progress!

, , , , ,

About TheStyleGent

I blog about character, competency and clothing. Giving back, living well and looking sharp is how you live life with style. What good is a new suit if the man inside is rotten?

View all posts by TheStyleGent

CONNECTIONS:

Thank you so much for visiting my site! I'd love to hear from you; subscribe and connect with me on Facebook & Twitter. Let me hear your thoughts on how men can aspire to transform themselves from the inside out.

2 Comments on “Monday Motivations: The Power Of Simplicity”

  1. jenndiva Says:

    Love your post! I have to say that we are very much alike. It takes me a long time to tell a story and my grandparents have given me similar advice. I was telling my friend the other day that it’s crazy to me how attached we are to cell phones these days. When my grandparents were my age they didn’t know what a cell phone was. It definitely seemed like a simpler time. I would love to have more of the simple life and like you said it starts with letting go and living our lives. Loved this post.

    Reply

    • TheStyleGent Says:

      Thank you Jen. It’s so easy to get caught up in the complexities of life, I am trying to learn balance and moderation in everything I do. It’s not easy, but it’s a worthy goal to strip away the things we don’t need to say, do or even bring into our lives in exchange for peace and tranquility.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

