Transformations: Excuse The %&$* Expletives


 

I’ve been using social media for a short time now and it’s been an enriching experience. I’ve been able to connect with all types of interesting, informative, intelligent, creative, caring, empathetic, engaging people. Like offline life, it has really giving me a real insight on different types of personalities, brands, entertainment and propaganda out there. I’ve learned that it can inspire you to be more aware of yourself of others and the world around you, teach you to be entrepreneurial,  a leader or give you daily affirmation. I learned that it can also be a very weird, confounding, unruly place as well. I’ve learned that there are other “versions” of the chirping bird out there including a #twitterafterdark, black twitter, a spammers paradise and a slew of bathroom photo models that would love to get your attention. But out of all the things that may be right or wrong with social media I guess the one thing that I don’t appreciate is foul language.

If you have visited this site enough you know that I really do my best to be positive and encourage those that visit to do “Internal Styling,”  tweaking  the things that keep us from being the best version of ourselves we can be. One of those things is foul language. I don’t like it. It really, really turns me off. In fact, I actually cringe when I hear a person lay into a person with a barrage of vulgar, angry words aimed mostly at degrading or berating someone or someones character, family member, racial background, sexuality, etc, etc.  Some even pride themselves for their distinct ability and ease at being able to rattle off a slew of carefully aimed expletives that cut away at someones self-esteem with the precision of a surgeons scalpel.

Call me old fashion but there is something to be said of someone who lets the F-bombs flow freely. It’s a part of good etiquette and general manners to be wary of how our actions affects others around us. I’m not a Puritan but being polite and gracious goes a long way online and offline. So as you tweet, sub-tweet, post or update your status be a little mindful of how you speak. Words can cut or heal. “Dress Internally”

, , , , , , ,

About TheStyleGent

I blog about character, competency and clothing. Giving back, living well and looking sharp is how you live life with style. What good is a new suit if the man inside is rotten?

View all posts by TheStyleGent

CONNECTIONS:

Thank you so much for visiting my site! I'd love to hear from you; subscribe and connect with me on Facebook & Twitter. Let me hear your thoughts on how men can aspire to transform themselves from the inside out.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

