The Art Of Layering


Fall & winter, it’s cold. People do what comes naturally when it’s cold. Bundle, layer, cover up the imperfections of the body. Wrap under the wool and cashmere for comfort. Winter is a way we can sink into ourselves, reserve our energies, until spring releases our inhibitions. I think we all hide in the winter time and layer ourselves under comfortable habits, excuses and Fears. Use emotional fabrics to protect ourselves from the storm-fronts of each other’s experiences. Some are savvy enough to make themselves seem fashionable, matching textures and colors perfectly: olive, brown, camel, orange, blue, gray and black. Others fumble and struggle to get it right.

So what’s underneath all that “clothing”? How much of it do we really need? All the coats, scarves, hats boots and gloves gives the appearance of warmth but I wonder just how well we protect ourselves  from the elements of the world. It’s cold out there. Every day we willingly expose ourselves to the harsh conditions of life: Work, Relationships & the World. It’s difficult to let your guard down when you feel just living is stripping you of your emotional and mental reserves day after day. So what do we do? We try to cover our pain by with layers and layers of distractions that keep us “safe” from each other. We blog because it wraps us in the warmth of anonymity, frees us from ridicule. We text because we would rather not deal with the awkwardness of reality. We email because we live such fragmented and separated lives, our schedules don’t allow us to look into each other’s eyes. We are online because we still have the need to be connected but we are scared to tell him/her what we really look like for fear of rejection and loneliness. I would tell you that I for one am not comfortable being exposed for who I really am. I’m dreadfully frightened of my truth and I would gather that you would be too.

Winter suits me just fine. I love the first snow fall, the stillness of the crisp air, The boots that keep my toes warm, the wool turtlenecks, sweaters, scarves and soft cashmere lined gloves. Just remember to cover your head and bundle up…

It’s cold out there.

, , , ,

About TheStyleGent

I blog about character, competency and clothing. Giving back, living well and looking sharp is how you live life with style. What good is a new suit if the man inside is rotten?

View all posts by TheStyleGent

CONNECTIONS:

Thank you so much for visiting my site! I'd love to hear from you; subscribe and connect with me on Facebook & Twitter. Let me hear your thoughts on how men can aspire to transform themselves from the inside out.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

